NUR 456: Leadership & Trends in Nursing
To find career information, consider two free tools from the U.S. Department of Labor:
Occupational Outlook Handbook and
O*NET Online
Occupational Outlook Handbook,
This site lists pay, educational requirements, and job prospect projections.
- Do a search in the upper right-hand corner of the page
- Choose a job listing from the results list
- Read the overview, then navigate to more details using the tabs: What they do, Work Environment, How to become one, Pay, Job outlook, State & Area data
O*NET Online,
This site describes the daily work, tools used, and other specific details. Consult this when developing your resume and education plan, to ensure that you include keywords employers are looking for, and that are prepared to enter the profession.
- Do a search in the upper right-hand corner of the page
- Choose a job listing from the results list
- Read the overview, then click on the “Details” tab for profiles on: Tasks, Technology Skills, Tools Used, Knowledge, Skills, Abilities, Work Activities, Detailed Work Activities, Work Context, Job Zone, Interests, Work Styles, Work Values, Wages & Employment, Job Openings
Visit the News: Current or News: Historical subject guides at Benner Library. Use the databases linked here to find full text news articles regarding nurses and nursing:
- All of these databases are accessible off-campus
- These databases include popular newspapers and magazines NOT scholarly (research/peer-reviewed) sources
- To begin searching, click on the database name, then enter your ONUnet username (without “@olivet.edu”) & password
O*NET Online,
This site describes the daily work, tools used, and other specific details. Consult this when developing your resume and education plan, to ensure that you include keywords employers are looking for, and that are prepared to enter the profession.
- Do a search in the upper right-hand corner of the page
- Choose a job listing from the results list
- Read the overview, then click on the “Details” tab for profiles on: Tasks, Technology Skills, Tools Used, Knowledge, Skills, Abilities, Work Activities, Detailed Work Activities, Work Context, Job Zone, Interests, Work Styles, Work Values, Wages & Employment, Job Openings
- Consider visiting the Zwerdling Nursing Archive (ZNA) Postcard Gallery for vintage images
- The library database
Academic Search Complete is a good resource for this discussion post (but NOT for posts which required scholarly nursing studies).
Why use this database instead of CINAHL? Because you can find articles written for nursing practitioners as well as information for the general public in a single database. Academic Search Complete contains… - Sources from a variety of academic disciplines
- Sources written for various audiences:
- Popular magazines/newspapers: written for a general audience
- Trade Journals/Magazines: written for practitioners in the field, articles are NOT research-based
- Scholarly/Academic Journals\Peer-reviewed sources: original research is conducted; articles are peer-reviewed before publication
Step-by-step guide
to using Academic Search complete to find Trade Publications.
In order to find scholarly, nursing articles, search in the database CINAHL Complete. Use two search boxes to identify
- ethical issues (use the * symbol to get variations on the word: issue, issues)
- an area of interest
Need help? Review the CINAHL Basics video for more search tips, This video tutorial is 3-minutes long.
Search the CINAHL database using Subject Headings. There are two ways to discover them:
- One method starts with a simple keyword search
- The second method is demonstrated in this and uses the CINAHL Headings tool within the database.
Email GCS Librarians
Ask-A-Librarian
This web page was created by Jasmine Cieszynski, Instructional Services, on 6/13/2019.