If you are trying to use the Benner Library search engine at the top of our webpage in Google Chrome and it is loading a blank page that says "about_blank" you need to allow pop-ups. Click on the "Pop-up blocked" words and icon to the far right of the address bar and select: "Always allow pop-ups and redirects from [site] > Done.
If you need further assistance, follow these directions if you need assistance. https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95472?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop#zippy=%2Callow-pop-ups-and-redirects-from-a-site
Contact us from the Ask-A-Librarian page if you need assistance.
Now Hiring Student Assistants
Do you have a strong work ethic, good organizational skills and enjoy the library environment? There are multiple job openings in several departments of Benner Library for the Fall semester 2022.
To apply, click on the Student Job Application link in the footer of any library web page.
Fishbowl open 24/7
The FISHBOWL is open 24/7. When the Library is closed, use your ID to access the library lobby (where you can return books) and then the FISHBOWL. If you have problems getting the door to open, swipe your card, push the door in and pull the handle out quickly.
Who's @ the desk?
See who is covering the information desk at the library during open hours.
The poster printer is for patrons to print posters that are larger than 11 x 17. The standard paper width is 24 inches but 36 inch rolls (bond & heavy weight paper only) are available upon request. Use our price calculator to figure out the cost of your poster. Reserve a Time in our Bookings program to get your posters printed.
There are two buttons makers available in the library: 1.5 inch and 2.25 inches. Supplies to make the buttons, keychains, or magnets can be purchased at the Lower Level Service Desk in the library. For more information visit our website.
Benner Library offers a variety of printing services that are readily available to ONU students and community patrons.
The library has 4 regular printers available to patrons, which are:
Yokohama - Located on the first floor, this printer only prints in black and white.
Des Moines - Located on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Montreal - Located in the fishbowl on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Seoul - Located on the second floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
New York - Located on the lower level, this printer prints in color and black and white.
In addition to being able to print from the library's computers, print jobs can also be sent via our web printing portal. Upon signing in, just follow the instructions on the page to submit a job that can be released from any of the printers listed above, or any printers that support GINGER* on campus (a list of valid printers will also be given in the portal).
Benner Library printers also have the option of scanning documents directly to a student email. For more information and instruction on scanning to email, ask a Benner Library employee.
The library is home to a 3D printer (Prusa i3 MK35). For more information on use of the 3D printer, please visit our 3D printing page.
Benner Library patrons also have access to a poster printer. For more information on use of the poster printer, please visit our poster printing page.
*GINGER refers to the printing queue common to many computers on campus. A print sent from one computer to "FollowMe-Student on GINGER" can be retrieved from any one of many locations on campus.
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Cochrane Controlled Trials Register is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Features abstracts & indexing for nearly 850 journals (550 are full text and 450 are peer-reviewed) focusing on many medical disciplines. Text dates back to 1975. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
MEDLINE with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, 528 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
STAT!Ref Â® is a healthcare e-source. It includes cross-searchable, full-text, top-tier titles in a breadth of healthcare disciplines from a wide variety of reputable authors, publishers and societies. (Full text) Service = Teton Data Systems
This resource includes evidence-based medical content, summaries and treatment recommendations, references, medical calculators, patient information and a select drug database. To cite from UTD see APA 7 Book p.319, #14
(Some full text) Service = Wolters Kluwer Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Bates' Visual Guide includes Bates' Physical Examination Videos and OSCE (Objective Structured Clinical Examinations) Clinical Skills Videos. These videos deliver head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for assessment and clinical medicine. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. (Multimedia) Service = Wolters Kluwer
Bates Visual Guide includes Bates Physical Examination Videos and OSCE (Objective Structured Clinical Examinations) Clinical Skills Videos. These videos deliver head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for assessment and clinical medicine. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. (Multimedia) Service = Wolters Kluwer
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association. -- copied from publisher's site (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
This resource is limited to 1 user at a time.A patient-information tool written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). (Full text) Service = Teton Data Systems
Advanced Practice Nursing in the Care of Older Adults will serve as a guide for advanced practice nurses who...provide care to older adults. Designed as a text for students as well as a reliable source of evidence-based practice for advanced practice nurses, this book contains information on healthy aging, comprehensive geriatric assessment, and common symptoms and illnesses that present in older adults. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Teton Data Systems
The eighth edition of this highly acclaimed book continues the legacy of the previous editions in offering the latest information on commonly used complementary therapies in a readily accessible manner for nurses; although the focus of the book is nursing, practitioners in other disciplines will also find the text helpful. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Teton Data Systems
Medical reference and tool set which encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used every day by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students of all types. There is a growing emphasis and application of Evidence Based Medicine. (Full text) Service = Teton Data Systems
The purpose of this document is to articulate the scope and standards of the specialty practice of holistic nursing and to inform holistic nurses, the nursing profession, other healthcare providers and disciplines, employers, thirdparty payers, legislators, and the public about the unique scope of knowledge and the standards of practice and professional performance of a holistic nurse. Holistic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 2nd Edition, is the foundational document and resource for holistic nursing education at all levels (undergraduate, graduate, continuing education), and for holistic nursing practice, research, advocacy, and certification. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Ovid
The philosophy that a true leader, in any venue, must be a servant of those he or she leads. This text includes current information on the relevance of servant leadership for nurses practicing in a health care setting with extensive literature review on leadership in nursing and healthcare as well as on servant leadership. This unique text also includes many powerful and poignant perceptions and experiences of servant leadership elicited in tape-recorded interviews with 75 nursing leaders currently practicing in the contemporary healthcare system. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Ovid
Stedman's Medical Dictionary (2016) has been thoroughly reviewed and updated to make this dictionary the most reliable resource available for healthcare, including medical students, physicians, educators, researchers, and medical language specialists. This 2016 version includes over 107,000 terms and definitions. Added to this version are 139 new cardio terms and 240 new oncology terms. Over 45 consultants from all the major medical and health science specialties have reviewed each word for accuracy and clarity, including new consultants for the specialties of endocrinology, gastroenterology, geriatrics, rheumatology, cardiology, and oncology. Readers will recognize the authoritative content contained in the 2016 version, and want to add it to their list of must have references. (Full text) Service = Teton Data Systems