SPED 201 Characteristics of Students with Disability

Assignment Description:

Select a special education journal (i.e. Exceptional Children, Teaching Exceptional Children, Journal of Learning Disabilities, Behavioral Disorders, Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders), and find articles within this journal from three different decades (i.e. the 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, 1990s, 2000s, or 2010s) related to Special Education. The topic may be related to instructional styles of learners with disabilities or diagnosis of learners with disabilities, or any topic that is of interest to you. The written reflection should be between two to three pages.

Provide a brief summary of each article (no more than 200 words per article).
In addition to the summaries, write about the differences you note in the articles, including trends in special education that are reflected in the articles. Consider: What are the underlying causes of these trends? Do these trends reflect positive changes in the special education profession?

Library Handout

Suggested Databases
Academic Search Complete

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

Education Source

Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is a full-featured online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition

Features abstracts & indexing for nearly 850 journals (550 are full text and 450 are peer-reviewed) focusing on many medical disciplines. Text dates back to 1975. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)