EDUC 210: Instructional Methods of Early Childhood Education

online catalogs | reference books | databases for reader's advisory | databases for kids
ILL | article databases | recommended websites

Preschool-Kindergarten Thematic Units

Online catalogs

Guides to childrens' literature

• 100 best books for children (2004) / Anita Silvey.
  Call Number: 011.62 Si39o
• A to zoo : subject access to children's picture books / Carolyn W. Lima, John A. Lima. 2001 Book
  Call Number: 011.62 L628a, 2001
• Adventuring with books : a booklist for pre-K-grade 6 / Amy A. McClure and Janice V. Kristo, editors, and the Committee to Revise the Elementary School Booklist ; with a foreword by Rudine Sims Bishop. 2002 Book
  Call Number: R 028.52 N2132a, 2002
• Best books for children : preschool through grade 6. Supplement to the seventh edition / John T. Gillespie, Catherine Barr. 2003 Book
  Call Number: R 028.52 G412b, 2003, SuppL.
• Best books for middle school and junior high readers : grades 6-9 / by John T. Gillespie, Catherine Barr.
  Call Number: R 028.52 B464g, 2004
• Books kids will sit still for 3 : a read-aloud guide / Judy Freeman. 2006 Book
  Call Number: R 011.6254 F877b, 2006
• Books to grow with : a guide to using the best children's fiction for everyday issues and tough challenges (2004) / by Cheryl F. Coon.
  Call Number: 011.62 C783b
• Celebrating children's choices : 25 years of children'sfavorite books (2000) / by Arden Ruth Post. Arden DeVries Post with Marilyn Scott, Michelle Theberge.
  Call Number: 028.162 P845c
• Children's core collection
  Call Number: R 028.5 W693c, 2010
• Core collection for children and young adults (2008) / Schwedt, Rachel E., 1944-
  Call Number: 011.62 Sch97c
• Fantasy literature for children and young adults : a comprehensive guide / Ruth Nadelman Lynn.
  Call Number: R 028.52 L993f, 2005
• Great books about things kids love : more than 750 recommended books for children 3 to 14 / Kathleen Odean. 2001 Book
  Call Number: R 011.62 Od2g
• Understanding diversity through novels and picture books (2007) / Knowles, Elizabeth, 1946-
  Call Number: 011.62 K761u

Database for kids

Primary Search Toggle Dropdown

Contains full text for nearly 70 popular elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. Includes indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary and a collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags. -- copied from publisher's site (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

Library article databases

Education Source Toggle Dropdown

Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

Eric (EBSCO) Toggle Dropdown

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

PsycINFO Toggle Dropdown

Psychology and related fields since 1806. including international material from periodicals written in over 25 languages. Includes current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

Recommended websites

• Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
• Child Welfare League of America (Child Abuse)
• Administration for Children and Families