Selected Sites

AAHN Research Resources
Links to other nonprofit, education, and government websites relevant to nursing history.

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR
"a federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. ATSDR serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances."

AJN The American Journal of Nursing
Published annually in January issue of AJN. Annotated list of the most valuable nursing books of the year as chosen by American Journal of Nursing panel of judges. Books are listed by nursing specialty.

American Nurses Association
Links to state nurses associations and allied nursing organizations globally.

CDC - National Center for Health Statistics Homepage
The National Center for Health Statistics' website is a rich source of information about America's health. The FastStats site linking from their homepage is very useful. It provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

CDC | National Center for Environmental Health
"Contains direct links to NCEH data resources, programs and campaigns, publications and products, emergency response, and training." From Choice Reviews Feb. 2006.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
For each of the Health & Safety Topics and the specific groups listed on the homepage, there is very specific information and statistics for every topic. An in-depth and useful resource!

Covid-19 (Coronavirus) research articles
Covid-19 (Coronavirus)INFECTIOUS DISEASE articles. Free from Academia.edu

Drugs@FDA
"A searchable database of FDA-approved brand name and generic drugs"

Evidence-Based Practice
"The Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses (AMSN) values evidence based practice (EBP) as a way to affect best patient care.
EBP integrates the best available evidence to guide nursing care and improve patient outcomes. This helps health practitioners address health care questions with an evaluative and qualitative approach."

Evidence-Based Practice (EBP)
Glossary, tutorials, evidence maps, and more from The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA).

Families USA: The Voice for Health Care Consumers
This site breaks down difficult medical information for the consumer, on all issues such as insurance, physicians and prescriptions that consumers invest time and money into.

For Health Care Professionals
For Health Care Professionals

Genetics Home Reference
This resource provides consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes associated with those conditions.

GlobalHealth.gov
News about health advancements around the world.

Growth Charts - Homepage
"A searchable database of FDA-approved brand name and generic drugs"

Guidelines and Measures from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions."

Health Topics: MedlinePlus
Contains links to up-to-date consumer health information from the National Institutes of Health

healthfinder.gov - Your Source for Reliable Health Information
Consumer health information from the U.S. government

Home - ClinicalTrials.gov
Links for patients to medical research.

Illinois Department of Public Health Home Page
Website for the Illinois department of Public Health with information on diseases and current event news.

Illinois Department of Public Health Statistics
Health Indicators

Legal Eagle Eye Newsletter for the Nursing Profession Home Page
Newsletter for nurses, please scroll down past the image to see the A-Z list.

Medicare.gov - Nursing Home Compare - Search Criteria
Medicare.gov

MedlinePlus - Health Information from the National Library of Me
Information on various health topics, drug information, directories of hospitals, doctors, and libraries, health tutorials, and current news.

Micromedex (free)
A popular, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online which provides free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines, & natural products.

Midwifery, Nursing, and Obstetrics Manuscript Collections at NLM
ACNM Archives, 1945-1994.

National Institute of Nursing Research
The National Institute of Nursing Research website with information on research, funding, training, and current news.

National League for Nursing - Startpage
A site with information to help with education of nurses.

Notes from the Healthweb and Nursosphere « Off the Charts
Healthweb nursing

Nursing Resources | Health Sciences Library McMaster University
McMaster University's metasite.

Nursing Theory
"...a list of major nursing theorists who have contributed to the development of professional nursing practice into what it is today"

Nutrition.gov
"provides easy access to the best food and nutrition information from across the federal government."

O*NET OnLine
Search for job occupations and related jobs to explore career options.

OJIN: The Online Journal of Issues in Nursing
A high quality example of a totally electronic, freely available nursing journal, published by Kent State University School of Nursing in partnership with American Nurses Association.

Science.gov
"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results."

The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International
Databases about nurse researchers and research, including abstracts of STTI & other nursing research conferences, table of contents for STTI publications Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, Journal of Nursing Scholarship, and more.

The Medical Heritage Library : Free Texts : Download & Streaming
A collection of sources from medical libraries.

TOXMAP - TRI and Superfund Environmental Maps
An environmental quality database provided by the US National Library of Medicine, is designed for nontechnical people interested in learning about air and water pollutants in their area.

U S Food and Drug Administration Home Page
FDA provides articles that relates to protecting your health

Welcome to NP Central!
Nonprofit site dedicated to practice development, advancement, and educational support of nurse practitioners and to the promotion of accessible, quality health care to the consumer.

Zwerdling Nursing Archives
Postcards of Nursing: A Worldwide Tribute. Chosen by American Journal of Nursing as 2004 Nursing Book of the Year.

Submit a question or suggest a link.