NUR 466: Nursing Research
Week 3: Discussion
Week 7: Literature Review
The slide “Selecting Databases” (see 5:58 in the lecture recording) lists information about databases that are NOT AVAILABLE to Olivet students:
- We do not subscribe to any “citation only” database for nursing (although we do have some for other academic disciplines)
- The nursing and medicine-related databases to which Benner Library provides access are listed in the “Recommended Databases” section on the Nursing Subject Guide
- CINAHL Complete and Medline are the names of databases. When you ask for help, use the database name!
- EBSCOhost, GALE Cengage, and Cambridge Scientific are only information providers/vendors/companies. They license content (such as the databases CINAHL and Academic Search Complete) to library customers. In the same way that the company Pepsico owns several brands (Pepsi, Tropicana, Gatorade) which are purchased by consumers.
Database Search Tutorials
- CINAHL Basics tutorial (3:06 min)
- How to Find Research Literature tutorial (in order to find “primary” articles) (3:20 min)
- Systematic Reviews (2:29 min)
Week 8: Discussion Theory and Research Frameworks
Before you attempt to find articles for your post, view the three-minute video Nursing Theorist video tutorial.
Bonus tip (not included in tutorial): To find clinical applications of Betty Neuman’s theory:
- Use Benner Library’s database CINAHL Complete.
- Change the drop-down menu to subject
- Type “Neuman Systems Model”
- Add the word clinical to the next search box
This web page was created by Jasmine Cieszynski, Instructional Services, on 7/31/2019.