Selected Databases

• Academic Search Complete

  The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

• Chicago Tribune (Historical)

  (1849-2010) This database includes full page and article images with searchable full text for all issues of the Chicago Daily Tribune, Chicago Press & tribune, and Chicago Tribune up until 1996. Newer content is added periodically by the database publisher. Note: Benner Library has a current print subscription and retains three months. (Full text) Service = ProQuest

• Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

  Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1949 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Library of Congress

• Communication and Mass Media

  A research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more. Includes full text for more than 450 journals. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

• Gale in Context: Global Issues

  International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Includes multimedia: podcasts, video, and interactive graphs. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning

• Harper's Weekly

  A 19th century illustrated newspaper, searchable by keyword, subject headings and additional finding aids. (Full text) Service = Alexander Street Press, LLC

• Kankakee Daily Journal (current)

  Current newspaper for Kankakee County. This link will take you to a pdf with ONU access information. Here is the link to go directly to the Daily Journal: https://www.daily-journal.com/e-edition/. (Full text) Service = Daily Journal

• Kankakee Daily Journal (partial archive)

  Archives from the Daily Journal of Kankakee County covering 3 issues in 1923, one issue from 1930, and from 1956-1957. The list of available issues will continue to grow. (Full text) Service = Digital Commons @ Olivet

• New York Times (Historical)

  The New York Times (1851-2015) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: Sept 18, 1851-Dec 31, 2015. Note: For current access, use Benner Library's subscription database Nexis Uni. (Full text) Service = ProQuest

• Newspaper Source

  Full text for 40+ US and international newspapers plus selective full text for 389 regional US newspapers. Full text of TV and radio news transcripts. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

• Nexis Uni

  Nexis Uni provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. Newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. (Full text) Service = LexisNexis

• Regional Business News

  Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

• Statista

  Statistical data from over 18,000 sources. (Full text) Service = Statista Inc

Selected eBooks

• The Reference Shelf (Salem)

  Collection of ebooks about current events and controversial topics. (Full text) Service = Salem Press

Selected eJournals

• Bloomberg Businessweek

  Free during COVID-19 pandemic. (Full text) Service = EBSCOnet (ejournals)

• Chronicle of Higher Education (EBSCO)

  The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and job listings for people in academe; the web site articles date from September 1989; also contains vibrant discussion forums, career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

• International New York Times

  This takes you to a page set up to limit the search to only the International New York Times. Coverage is from 7/1/1991 to the present. (Full text) Service = LexisNexis

• National Review

  National Review was founded in 1955 by William F. Buckley Jr. as a magazine of conservative opinion. The magazine has since defined the modern conservative movement and enjoys the broadest allegiance among American conservatives. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Gale

• New York Times (Gale)

  Provides links to individual issues as well as searching capability. (Full text) Service = Gale

• New York Times (Nexis)

  Takes you to a page where it is set up to limit the search to only the New York Times. Coverage is from 6/1/1980 to the present. (Full text) Service = LexisNexis

• Newsweek, Global

  Publishes news and commentary on developments in the nation and the world. Covers national and international affairs, science, sports, religion, business, medicine & the arts. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = ProQuest

• The Economist

  A weekly news magazine of world politics and current affairs, business, finance and science published in London, England. (Full text) Service = ProQuest

• Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)

  Eastern Edition of the Wall Street Journal (Full text) Service = ProQuest

• World

  (Some full text) Service = World News Group