Selected Databases

• AAS Historical Periodicals: Series 1: 1684-1820

  EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.This collection contains more than 500 titles dating from 1684 through 1820. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

• AAS Historical Periodicals: Series 2: 1821-1837

  The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring about 6500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

• AAS Historical Periodicals: Series 3: 1838-1852

  The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, and religion. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

• AAS Historical Periodicals: Series 4: 1853-1865

  The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, and religion. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

• AAS Historical Periodicals: Series 5: 1866-1877

  The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. Series 5 is the fifth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, and religion. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

• Academic Search Complete

  The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

• ArchiveGrid

  Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = OCLC (305)

• Biblical Archaeology Society

  The Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) disseminates information about archaeology in Bible lands through its bi-monthly magazine, Biblical Archaeology Review and at www.biblicalarchaeology.org. (Full text) Service = Biblical Archaeology Society

• Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

  Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1949 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Library of Congress

• Eighteenth Century Collections Online

  This database includes: Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more Based on the English Short Title Catalogue Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere Primarily in English - also includes other languages -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning

• European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750

  The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846, is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

• Gale in Context: Global Issues

  International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Includes multimedia: podcasts, video, and interactive graphs. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning

• Harper's Weekly

  A 19th century illustrated newspaper, searchable by keyword, subject headings and additional finding aids. (Full text) Service = Alexander Street Press, LLC

• Historical Statistics of the United States

  Revised five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship up through the year 2000. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. Users can graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest. (Full text) Service = Cambridge University Press

• History of Science, Technology & Medicine

  Integrates four bibliographies: ?the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. It covers topics on the role of scientific discovery in society and culture, as well as the historiography of scientific disciplines from prehistory to the present. It includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials. -- description taken from EBSCO. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

• Homeland Security Digital Library

  Over 85,100 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities. (Full text) Service = Center for Homeland Defense and Security

• JStor

  An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. (Full text) Service = JSTOR

• OAIster

  Contains digital resources from open archive collections, including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets. It represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide and the records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = OCLC (305)

Selected eBooks

• ACLS Humanities E-Book

  Fully searchable collection of 1000+ high-quality books in history from 75 publishers, recommended and reviewed by historians. (Full text) Service = American Council of Learned Societies

• American Decades 1990-1999

  Documents and analyzes periods of contemporary American social history. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning

• American Decades Primary Sources

  Full or excerpted primary sources from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements, and events from the decade. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning

• American Decades Primary Sources: 2000-2009

  This volume covers the first decade of the twenty-first century from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the details of Americans' daily lives. Topics include world events, the arts, business and the economy, education, fashion, government and politics, law and justice, lifestyles and social trends, media, medicine and health, religion, science and technology, and sports. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning

• American Decades: 2000-2009

  Covers everything from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the fascinating details of Americans' daily lives. Supports historical research in disciplines from the arts and business to law, medicine, technology and social trends. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning

• American Eras

  Essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning

• Americans At War

  This unique, four-volume set explains to students how mobilization for war and how wars themselves have altered the fabric of everyday life. Written by scholars in the fields of history, literature and the arts, sociology, law, political science and psychology, the encyclopedia places major American conflicts -- from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism -- in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the homefront. Articles include biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations and monumental art, literature, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, science and technology, humor, and music. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning

• Blitzed: drugs in the Third Reich

  LIMITED ACCESS: 1 concurrent userA fast-paced narrative that discovers a surprising perspective on World War II: Nazi Germany’s all-consuming reliance on drugs The Nazi regime preached an ideology of physical, mental, and moral purity. But as Norman Ohler reveals in this gripping new history, the Third Reich was saturated with drugs. On the eve of World War II, Germany was a pharmaceutical powerhouse, and companies such as Merck and Bayer cooked up cocaine, opiates, and, most of all, methamphetamines, to be consumed by everyone from factory workers to housewives to millions of German soldiers. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCO Ebooks

• Chicago Manual of Style Online

  The Online Edition of the Chicago Manual of Style includes recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices, tools, a quick guide, and Q&A section. (Full text) Service = University of Chicago Press

• Credo Reference: History

  Search resources related to History in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials. (Full text) Service = Credo

• Dictionary of American History

  Continually updated from its original 1940 edition, this authoritative work covers a wide range of topics in American history. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning

• Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO)

  All titles have unlimited access for CARLI members and may be used as course materials or for course reserves. Direct links may be embedded into course management systems. Titles may not be used for print course packs. Minimal, insubstantial amounts of the publications may be used to fulfill interlibrary loan requests.
  

  Resource provided by CARLI: ebooks with the publication dates of 2018-June 2021. The collection will grow monthly with newly published titles added through the end of our access period of June 30, 2021. (Full text) Service = Oxford University Press

• Salem History

  Includes the complete content of three printed reference series of historical reference: Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series, The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series, and Great Lives from History - The definitive, worldwide biographical resource. (Full text) Service = Salem Press

• The Reference Shelf (Salem)

  Collection of ebooks about current events and controversial topics. (Full text) Service = Salem Press

• University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO)

  All titles have unlimited access for CARLI members and may be used as course materials or for course reserves. Direct links may be embedded into course management systems. Titles may not be used for print course packs. Minimal, insubstantial amounts of the publications may be used to fulfill interlibrary loan requests.
  

  Resource provided by CARLI: all ebooks available from the listed Partner University Presses on the University Press Scholarship Online platform. The collection will grow quarterly with newly published titles added through the end of our access period of June 30, 2021. There are 6 publishers on the UPSO platform that are not available through this agreement. (Full text) Service = Oxford University Press

• Wiley eBooks

  All titles have unlimited access for CARLI members and may be used as course materials or for course reserves. Direct links may be embedded into course management systems. Titles purchased in perpetuity in July 2021 may be used to fulfill interlibrary loan requests; however, until that time, members may not use these titles to fulfill interlibrary loan requests.
  

  All CARLI Governing Members have access to ebooks on the Wiley Online Library platform with the publication dates of 2017-June 2021. The collection will grow monthly with newly published titles added through the end of our access period of June 30, 2021. (Full text) Service = Wiley

Selected eJournals

• Arminian Magazine Index, The

  Index pdf of the Arminian Magazine. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = Duke Divinity School

• Arminian Magazine, The

  Published and edited 1778-1797 by John Wesley. (Full text) Service = Hathi Trust

• Politics and Religion

  This new peer-reviewed journal provides original research into all aspects of the relationship between politics and religion around the world. The impact of religion on political attitudes, decision-making, and public policy development is analyzed, with topics ranging from abortion laws, sex education in schools, and stem cell research to transnational terrorism, morality, social justice, and human rights. Politics and Religion is multidisciplinary and international in scope, with contributions coming from all relevant areas, including political science, law, philosophy, sociology, history, area studies, and economics. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cambridge University Press