Selected Sites

Academy of Achievement Main Menu
Academy of Achievement is a nonprofit foundation that provides information on biographies, profiles, and interviews from leaders in the arts, business, public service, science and exploration, and sports

All About Jazz - Musicians
Includes biographies of more than 3,600 jazz musicians, along with jazz news, reviews, festivals, interviews, audio downloads, and photos.

Archive of American Television
Over 800 oral history interviews (over 4000 hours) with the legends of television. These interviews chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History as it evolves. --description modified from Archive of American Television

BBC-History: Historical Figures
BBC provides biographies on famous and notable historical figures.

Biographical Dictionary of the United States Congress, 1774-Present
Biographical information of people who have served in the U.S. Congress

Biographies of Women Mathematicians - Agnes Scott College
Agnes Scott College illustrates the achievements of women in the field of mathematics, and their biographies.

Biography.com
This website offers researchers a wide variety of biographies from the past to the present. The site provides text, audio, and video.

BlackPast.org
Over 1,500 biographical and other encyclopedia entries, full-text transcripts of speeches, and links to digital archives dating back to the 18th century.

Distinguished Women of Past and Present
Search the biographies of women who have distinguished themselves in our history. From writers to civil rights crusaders to politicians, etc.

Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Biographies of scientific figures in the fields of astronomy, chemistry, mathematics, and physics.

ESPN - Top North American Athletes of the 20th Century
Top 100 athletes of the 20th century and their biographies.

IMDB (Internet Movie Database)
To look up biographical information on actors and directors, go to the "Advanced Search" link and search for biographies using the "Name Text Search" box. Along with the biographical information, there will be filmography and interesting trivia about the individual.

Infoplease.com
Over 30,000 biographies that are searchable via the search box, the A-to-Z list, and by category.

Legacy.com
Hosts more than 20 million obituaries worldwide, and provides updated biographical sections; "Obituaries in the News" and "Legends and Legacies."

MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
Over 1,000 biographies of mathematician from 500 AD to Present.

Music Academy Online - Composer Biographies
Be able to search biographies of composers from the Medieval era through the present age. Also provides references for further reading.

National Aeronautics and Space Administration Astronaut Biographies
NASA provides biographical information of current, management, former, and international astronauts, also cosmonauts and astronaut candidates.

National Women's Hall of Fame
"Dedicated to recognizing and celebrating the achievements of great American women." Search the biographies of the women who have been inducted into this Hall of Fame.

Native American Authors
Provides information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to other online resources including interviews, online texts, and tribal websites.

PBS.org-Biographies and Profiles
PBS provides historical biographies and profiles from a wide variety of their programs, including documentaries, feature films, and interviews about famous or historical figures.

Presidents of the United States (POTUS)
Biographies of the United States Presidents, along with speeches and writings, election results, highlights, and links to more resources.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame - The Inductees
Biographical information on the inductees of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame from its beginning in 1986 through the present.

The Academy of American Poets
Biographies of more than 500 poets, in addition to thousands of poems, essays about poems, and more.

The Black Renaissance in Washington, D.C., 1920-1930's
Read biographies on the African Americans who were noteworthy during the Harlem Renaissance of the 1920s and 1930s in Washington D.C.

The Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences
Biographical information and highlights of the contributions of African American men and women in the field of science.

The History Makers
Biographical information, along with audio and video clips about African Americans who have influenced history. Including untold personal stories of African Americans.

The National Inventors Hall of Fame
Be able to search biographical information of the great inventors of the United States and the rest of the world.

The van Gogh Gallery - Artist Biographies
Provides information on the life and work of Vincent van Gogh, along with information on the lives and works of 250 prolific artists.

TIME 100: The 100 Most Influential People
Time magazine provides an annual list of the 100 most influential people in the world. Each person includes biographical information and why the person is influential.

United States House of Representatives - History, Art, and Archives - Women in Congress
Provides information on former female Members of Congress, along with links to information of currents female members.

United States Senate - Women in the Senate
Biographical information about all the women who have served as Senators.

White House Residents Biographies
Along with biographies on the Presidents, you will find information about their spouses and presidential libraries.

Submit a question or suggest a link.